FREE STRATEGY SESSIONS* | Call 702-435-3333
The Nevada crime of petit larceny occurs when someone intentionally steals, takes and carries away, leads away, or drives away any property owned by another person without their consent. In order to fall within the definition of petit larceny, the value of the property must be under $650.
Under Nevada Law, the court will assign a value to the property that is the highest value by any reasonable standard. Yes, this standard is as vague as it sounds. As an example, a car could be valued at blue book or NADA value. Or, the court could decide that the property could be given the same value as when it was new, no matter that cars depreciate in value the instant they are driven off the lot. This calculation can also be used to determine what resistution will be ordered as a term of probation. If the value of the property is less than $650, the appropriate charge is petit larceny. If the value of the property is over $650, the appropriate charge is grand larceny, which is a felony.
Petit Larceny requires intent. Therefore, if you did not intend to take the property in question, lack of intent is a defense to petit larceny. For example, if you accidentally walk out of a store with an item while forgetting to pay for it, you are not guilty of petit larceny.
Petit Larceny is a misdemeanor in Nevada. The punishment can be up to 6 month in jail and a $1000 fine. First time offenders usually take an online class and pay a small fine in lieu of jail time.
While Petit Larceny is a misdemeanor, a conviction can affect you ability to get a job or go to higher education. As it is a crime of dishonesty, it could also impact your ability to obtain a work card in Las Vegas.
Call the law offices of Boley & AlDabbagh if you are charged with Petit Larceny. We are extremely successful at getting these charges dropped.