Q: What is the age of consent in Nevada, and what exactly does age of consent mean? Does it mean that the parents have to consent to the relationship?
A: The age of consent in Nevada is sixteen. Age of consent simply means that the person is legally able to consent to having a sexual relationship with another person, despite not being 18. The parents of the person do not have a legal say in the matter and do not have to consent to the relationship. However, there are a few caveats to consider. If the parents are against the relationship and order their child not to leave the house or to see the older person, and the older person encourages the child to disobey the parents, then she/he can be charged with Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor, which is a misdemeanor. See NRS 201.110.
If a child is under the age of sixteen, an adult can be charged with Statutory Sexual Seduction. Statutory sexual seduction is defined as sexual penetration with a person under the age of 16 if you are over the age of 18. Therefore, a 65 year old could legally have sex with a 16 year old. If, however, the child is under the age of 16 and the defendant is between 18-21, the crime is a gross misdemeanor. If the defendant is over 21, the crime is a C Felony.