Skip to Content

FREE STRATEGY SESSIONS* | Call 702-435-3333

NRS Chapter 483 - "Cancellation, Suspension and Revocation of Driver License"

The cancellation, suspension and revocation of a driver license is a surprisingly complex area of law in Nevada. This is primarily because the Department of Motor Vehicles can restrict driving privileges for any number of reasons. When a person discovers that his or her license has been suspended or revoked, it is not uncommon for them to be unsure as to why the action was taken against their driver license. Examples of reasons why a license might be suspended or revoked are:

  • Failure to pay child support;
  • Having been found to be in control of a vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Content of .08 or higher;
  • A court order for failing to pay a traffic ticket or for having a warrant for the person’s arrest;
  • Failure to pay certain administrative fines or costs;
  • Accumulation of 12 demerit points within any 12 month period;
  • Numerous other reasons.

The reason for a license suspension or revocation will dictate how the problem can be corrected. For example, a license that is suspended for failure to pay child support can be reinstated by coming current on back child support payments, or by requesting a hearing in front of a judge to request a hardship modification. In contrast, a license that is revoked because of a DUI arrest can be contested in an administrative hearing at the DMV. 

If your Nevada driver license has been suspended or revoked, the first step to correcting the problem will be to discover why it happened in the first place. It is best to consult with an attorney to figure out exactly what needs to be done. We can even assist in determining the exact reason(s) for the suspension.

What are the penalties for driving on a suspended license?

In most cases,you will be cited for driving on a suspended license, which carries a heavy fine. The fine will vary depending on which court you are in. Also, depending on the reason WHY your license was suspended in the first place, various other penalties could be assessed (such as extending the period by which you are required to maintain an SR-22 filing with the State of Nevada). You should speak to an attorney about what needs to be done to get a valid license, because doing so will allow the attorney to negotiate the fine to a lower amount on your citation.

If your license has been revoked for a DUI, the penalties are much more severe and a conviction carries a MANDATORY 30 days in jail penalty, along with other harsh penalties. Again, you will need to speak to an attorney as soon as possible to try and avoid these penalties.

If you know your license is suspended or revoked, do not risk driving. Contact the lawyers at Boley and AlDabbagh immediately so we can work get you back on the roads again (legally) as soon as possible.